CODE Universität

CODE — Germany’s techiest university degree

CODE is the first private university for programmers in Germany. We talked to CODE founder Thomas Bachem about his opinion on Germany’s educational systen, German Tech talent and diversity as key to success. 

CODE is a partner of Ada Lovelace Festival. Get to know Germany’s first private university for programmes yourself at #ada17. Earlybird tickets are available until August 11.

#ada17 – get your earlybird ticket now!

Thomas, you have a reputation as a serial founder/investor. Can you keep track how many startups/businesses/projects you have been involved in your career until now?

I founded 3 startups, 2 agencies, 1 association and 1 university. I also invested in several startups as a business angel.

Your latest project is the CODE University of Applied Sciences in Berlin. Tell us a little bit about CODE.

We’re trying to rethink higher education from the scratch. CODE offers project-based Bachelor degree programs in Software Engineering, Interaction Design and Product Management. We want to create a really unique learning environment to educate the digital pioneers of tomorrow. 30 of Germany’s most successful internet entrepreneurs and many of the biggest internet companies are backing us.

How did you come up with the idea for CODE? Is it the German lack of well trained Tech-talent?

I’m basically building the university I was missing myself back then. We’re convinced that the way we educate students today is neither efficient nor adequate, so we want to change something about that.

Do I have to have an IT/Tech-background to apply for CODE? Or can anyone enroll?

We do not focus on the status quo, but instead want to see the potential in future students. You don’t need to have prior experience, but we’re looking for quick learners. Our application process involves several steps that give everyone the opportunity to show their individual strengths, be it in coding, design or conception.

The percentage of female students in MINT/STEM-fields in Germany is at about 20%. Does CODE have a plan how to close this gap and encourage more #womenintech in Germany?

Making tech teams more diverse is one of CODE’s key goals, and we’re putting a lot of effort into it. Just focusing on school graduates is too late, we need to change the perception of tech as a male-dominated discipline at younger ages. Because tech is much more about creativity, planning, communication and team work than most people think. Hence we founded the non-profit Code+Design Initiative, which organizes hackathons with 100+ adolescents in school holidays all over Germany and publishes a magazine that we send to over 4,000 German STEM teachers, showing the opportunities that tech offers for individual careers and our society as a whole. In addition to that, we support a lot of events and publications that focus on #womenintech.

#ada17 – get your ticket!

Thomas “Tom” Bachem is a passionate entrepreneur and founder of several startups. Starting his entrepreneurial career in his very youth, the list of companies he founded includes the media platform sevenload (sold to Hubert Burda Media in 2010), the gaming startup Fliplife (sold to KaiserGames in 2012), online resume editor (sold to XING in 2014) and hosting company Scaling Technologies. Though he studied International Business at Cologne Business School, his true passion lies in tech, and he spends a lot of his time designing, coding and building products himself. He volunteers as Vice Chairman at the German Startups Association, which he co-founded in 2012 to strengthen Germany’s startup ecosystem. Currently he is founding the CODE University of Applied Sciences, a private university for software developers, designers & digital entrepreneurs. Tom is an active business angel and frequent speaker.

CODE Universität

CODE – der techigste Universitätsabschluss Deutschlands

CODE ist die erste Privatuniversität für Programmierer in Deutschland. Wir haben uns mit CODE-Gründer Thomas Bachem über seine Meinung zum deutschen Bildungswesen, den deutschen Tech-Nachwuchs und Diversity als Schlüssel zum Erfolg unterhalten. 

CODE ist Partner des Ada Lovelace Festivals. Lerne Deutschlands erste  Privatuniversität für Programmierer vor Ort bei #ada17 kennen.  Bis zum 11. August gibt es Tickets zum Earlybird-Preis. 

#ada17 – jetzt anmelden!

Thomas, Du hast den Ruf des Serientäters als Gründer und Investor. Hast Du noch im Blick, bei wievielen Startups/Unternehmen/Projekten Du in Deiner Karriere involviert warst?

Ich habe bislang drei Startups, zwei Agenturen, einen Verband und eine Universität gegründet. Dazu kamen mehrere Investitionen in Startups als Business Angel.

Dein neuestes Projekt ist die CODE University of Applied Sciences in Berlin. Erzähl uns ein bisschen was über CODE.

Wir wollen die Hochschulbildung von Grund auf neu denklen. CODE bietet projekt-basierte Bachelor Studiengänge in Software Engineering, Interaction Design sowie Product Management. Wir wollen eine einzigartige Lernumgebung schaffen, in der die digitalen Pioniere von morgen lernen. Wir haben dabei die Unterstützung von 30 der erfolgreichsten Internet-Unternehmer Deutschland und viele der größten Internet-Unternehmen.

Wie kamst Du auf die Idee für CODE? Ist es der deutsche Mangel an gut ausgebildetem Tech-Nachwuchs?

Ich baue quasi die Universität, die ich selbst damals vermisst habe. Wir sind überzeugt, dass das heutige Bildungswesen weder effizient noch angebracht ist. Und daran wollen wir etwas ändern.

Brauch ich einen IT/Tech-Hintergrund, wenn ich mich bei CODE bewerben will? Oder kann sich jeder einschreiben?

Wir achten nicht auf den Status Quo, sondern auf das Potenzial der zukünftigen StundentInnen, Du brauchst nicht unbedingt Vorerfahrung, aber wir wollen schnelle Lerner. Unser Bewerbungsprozess umfasst mehrere Schritte, die allen die Möglichkeit bietet, ihre individuellen Stärken, sei es im Programmierem, im Design oder der Konzeption, unter Beweis zu stellen.

Der Anteil der Studentinnen im MINT/STEM-Bereich in Deutschland liegt bei rund 20%. Hat CODE einen Plan, wie dieses Ungleichgewicht behoben werden und Deutschland mehr #WomenInTech hervorbringen kann?

Tech-Teams diverser aufzustellen ist eines unsererHauptziele und wir arbeiten hart daran. Bei Schulabsolventen anzusetzen ist bereits zu spät, wir müssen die Wahrnehmung von Tech als männliche-dominierte Disziplin schon in einem jüngeren Alter früher verändern. Denn im Tech geht es viel mehr um Kreativität, Strategie, Kommunikation und Teamwork als die meisten Leute denken. Daher haben wir die gemeinnützige Initiative  Code+Design ins Leben gerufen: Dort organisieren wir Hackathons für 100 und mehr Jugendliche während der Schulferien und veröffentlichen ein Magazin, in dem wir  über 4000 deutschen Lehrern die Möglichkeiten von Tech als Karriereoption für Einzelne sowie der gesamten Gesellschaft aufzeigen. Obendrein unterstützen wir eine Menge an Events und Veröffentlichungen mit #WomenInTech-Fokus.

#ada17 – jetzt anmelden!

Thomas „Tom“ Bachem ist Unternehmer und Softwareentwickler. In früher Jugend machte er sich mit einer Internetagentur selbstständig, aus der später das Hosting-Unternehmen Scaling Technologies hervorging. Parallel zu seinem Studium an der Cologne Business School gründete er 2005 die Medienplattform sevenload (2010 verkauft an Hubert Burda Media) und im Jahr 2010 das Gaming-Startup Fliplife (2012 verkauft an KaiserGames). Im Herbst 2012 rief er den Bundesverband Deutsche Startups ins Leben, bei dem er bis heute ehrenamtlich als stellv. Vorsitzender tätig ist. Mitte 2014 verkaufte er sein Projekt Lebenslauf.com an XING. Anfang 2016 gab er die Gründung der CODE University of Applied Sciences bekannt, einer privaten Hochschule für Softwareentwickler, Designer & Unternehmer. Tom ist aus tiefer Überzeugung Unternehmer. Er liebt das operative, programmiert leidenschaftlich und unterstützt junge Startups als Investor und Business Angel.